New World Build for Good

  • Create tomorrow’s housing solution today

    建好生活 构筑未来

  • “企业的力量,在于关心与回馈社会。”

    新世界建好生活主席郑志刚

我们是商界领导的非营利房社企,由新世界发展创立,通过研究、倡议与先导项目,寻找中短期住房建设措施及长远方略,多管齐下缓解香港住房及土地供应等问题,令香港成为一个更宜居的城市。

Reimagining Hong Kong’s housing solution

千里之行,始于足下。欲解决深层次问题,须具备创新思维;要冲破樊篱关卡,须取得社会共识;让市民尽早受惠,就要言出必行。新世界发展过去一直关注香港住房及土地问题,通过推出各种创新方案,多管齐下,回馈社会,实践集团对“环境、社会及企业管治”(ESG)的企业可持续发展理念。“新世界建好生活”(“建好生活”) 房社企期望集合各界力量,旨在做到“地尽其用”,让基层与年青一代居有所安,构建共同生活的社区,令生活更加充实精彩,实践“创造共享价值”的精神。

我们的愿景

  1. 探讨创新住房模式,让更多香港市民可以置业安居,共享社会发展成果
  2. 研究创新可行的土地与住房方案,促进政府、商界及民间多方共赢
  3. 构建快乐共融的社区,提倡全方位软件支持
  4. 快速灵活地应对社会挑战,令香港成为粤港澳大湾区内最宜居的城市之一

“解决香港根深蒂固的住房问题,对本港未来的发展至关重要。我们矢志与社会各界合作,以创意思维寻找新出路,让更多人受惠。”

— 新世界建好生活主席郑志刚

新世界建好生活的组成

由新世界发展有限公司成立,下设咨询委员会,委员会专家成员来自土地规划、住房、经济及民生领域,以创新思维出谋献策,改善香港住房供应问题,助年青人及基层人士突破社会阶层。执行委员会会通过各项研究以及先导项目方式,参与“新世界建好生活”的倡议,期望商界、社会、政府携手推动可负担住房的长远发展。

  1. 主席 - 新世界发展行政总裁郑志刚

  2. 咨询委员会

    集各方专家,研究及提出创意方案,释放香港更多土地资源,增加可负担住房供应

    成员名单*

    • 刘励超先生, SBS刘励超先生1972年于香港大学毕业后加入香港公务员行列,曾服务不同部门包括前中央政策组及前房屋规划地政局,处理城市规划、市区重建及土地发展与行政事务,于退休时为香港特别行政区政府地政总署署长。

      刘先生于香港一份报章专栏撰写有关土地、房屋、智慧城市以及自然保育与历史建筑保育等问题已逾十年,现任市区重建局土地、安置及补偿委员会委员及香港房屋协会人力资源委员会委员。

      刘先生现时亦为香港集思会顾问、香港乡郊基金顾问、团结香港基金顾问及智慧城市联盟荣誉会员。
    • 招国伟先生招国伟先生是公屋联会总干事,持有岭南大学中文(荣誉)文学士学位。招先生现为香港房屋委员会及辖下商业楼宇小组委员会的委员,亦是“劏房”租务管制研究工作小组成员。
    • 庄太量教授庄太量教授现为香港中文大学新亚书院副院长,刘佐德全球经济及金融研究所常务所长,经济学系副教授及环球经济与金融跨学科主修课程联席主任,2013-2016年兼任南京大学思源讲座教授。庄教授1991年获香港中文大学经济学学士,1995年获美国罗彻斯特大学 (University of Rochester) 经济学博士,其专业研究范畴为计量财务学。庄教授为全球首百分之五经济学家 (RePEc),杰出作品量为全球首百分之一,2000-2005年于全球理论计量经济学排名37。庄教授着有《人生炼金术》一书及1,000余篇论文发表于国际学术期刊以及报章。

      庄教授热心服务社会,经常接受电子传媒及报章访问,及定期为香港特区政府与内地官员进行培训,并出任多项公职,曾任世界银行及联合国世界绿色组织项目顾问、香港特别行政区政府中央政策组非全职顾问、标凖工时委员会委员、交通咨询委员会委员、土地及建设咨询委员会委员,以及康乐园国际学校校董,现为香港特别行政区政府纪律人员薪俸及服务条件常务委员会、中小企业发展支持基金及发展品牌、升级转型及拓展内销市场的专项基金评审委员会委员。庄教授亦为电讯(竞争条文)上诉委员会成员、香港总商会经济政策委员会委员、香港学术及职业资历评审局专家小组委员、香港赛马会会员,亚太研究所金融市场研究计划主任,及多份国际期刊的编辑委员。庄教授经常和大众在他的YouTube频道“庄教授经济人生”分享他对全球经济和个人发展的看法。
    • 何钜业先生, MH, JP何钜业测量师于2016年获香港特别行政区委任为太平绅士,并于2021年获颁荣誉勋章。何先生于1991年获取专业建筑测量师资格,拥有超过30年相关经验。他曾担任香港测量师学会会长(2014年至2015年)及香港测量师学会建筑测量组主席(2010年至2012年)。他于2005年创立富汇测量师有限公司提供建筑顾问服务,并担任该公司董事总经理一职。在开创自己的事业之前,何先生曾于香港一家主要发展商及测量顾问公司工作。

      何先生对房地产项目发展、工程项目管理、物业发展总体规划和研究、可行性研究,以及管理就建筑物条例及地契条款而呈交的图则等工作均有非常丰富之经验。此外,他对建筑物条例及相关规例的释义和应用具相当经验。他亦是楼宇勘察、维修、加建、改建以及合同纠纷调解专家。何先生经常于各大传媒发表有关楼宇安全、设计、规划及物业发展事宜等意见。

      近年,何先生积极参与各种过渡性房屋先导项目的推广和实施。他曾协助香港社会服务联会完成位于土瓜湾的过渡性房屋先导计划项目,此项目提供了120个住宅单位。此外亦参与及管理位于南昌街的首个以“组装合成法”建造的过渡性房屋项目。这类过渡性房屋项目为香港的城市更新及小区复修提供了支持。

      他亦负责管理香港社会服务联会辖下位于深水埗南昌街全港首个以“组装合成法”建造的过渡性房屋项目的设计及建设工作。
    • 吴永顺先生, JP吴永顺太平绅士从事建筑设计及城市设计三十年,作品包括过百项商业和公共建筑。当中有理工大学创新楼、公理堂和中环街市等项目。曾获颁香港青年建筑师奖及十大杰出设计师奖。

      吴先生积极参与公共事务,曾任香港建筑师学会会长(2015-16),并在多个牵涉海港规划、城市设计、土地供应、市区更新和环境保护的政府咨询委员会担任公职。自2018年至今担任海滨事务委员会主席。

      吴先生兼任专栏作家,对建筑设计及城市规划的评论亦常见于传媒报导。

    *之后会有更多专家成员加入

  3. 执行委员会

    协助咨询委员会进行研究及倡议工作,并负责执行相关的创意方案

Let’s rethink anddo more

我们的研究方向

建议一:“新世界资助房屋”

“新世界建好生活”倡议发展全港首个非营利的私人资助房屋项目,以市值约五折至六折出售,并建议推行“置业易按揭”及为买家提供“渐进式供款”按揭模式,让买家能以超低价首付置业,分阶段按揭供款。换言之,买家将有充足时间积累储蓄,先入住,然后逐步购入安乐窝,解决港人普遍遇上缺乏大额首期及置业早期供款困难的问题,帮助年轻家庭轻松购得住房,为纾解香港房屋问题出一份力。

计划特色:

  1. 市值约五折至六折出售高质量的可负担住房
  2. 试验计划由新世界提供土地及出资兴建
  3. 超低价首付置业
  4. 渐进式供款
  5. 全方位配套设施支持,帮助年轻家庭建立共活社区

详情请按此处

Where creativity reimagines tomorrow's homes

建议二:私人发展商参建公屋及资助住房

在合适的政府公屋或资助住房项目,可引入发展商一并负责设计及建造,加快公营住房及资助住房的施工速度,缩短基层等候公屋时间,减轻政府兴建住房的负担,保证施工质量。

过去曾推出的创新住房项目

“创造共享价值”是新世界集团的企业宗旨。我们持续推出多项创新住房项目,多管齐下,回馈社会、筹建未来。

创新型过渡性房屋计划

新世界发展早前宣布捐赠农地予非政府组织及/或香港特别行政区政府,用作兴建创新社会住房及社区楼宇,以减轻基层人士的住房压力,推动他们向上流动。至今,已有四个项目开展了前期的规划工作,当中包括与香港路德会社会服务处合作,位于粉锦公路的过渡性住房项目,以及与基督教香港信义会社会服务部合作,位于牛潭尾的过渡性住房项目等,预计四个项目合共可兴建逾2,000个单位。集团也正与非营利机构及政府有关部门保持紧密沟通,会于不久的将来提供更多土地,发展过渡性住房,并会为社会住房项目注入独特和创新的元素,为香港下一代建设更美好的社区。

深井光屋

2016年,新世界通过周大福慈善基金捐款,与社房企“要有光”合作推出全港首创的“深井光屋”社会住房项目,改建一座建于60年代的废弃宿舍,以低于市价的价格租予有住房困难的基层家庭,协助短期内面对经济困难的家庭向上流,建⽴正向⽣活模式。

新世代首次置业计划

2017年12月,新世界发展推出“新世代首次置业计划”,为年轻人多提供一个置业阶梯,并以屯门天生楼作为试点。该计划向有自住需要并具经济能力的年轻人,提供低至7.5%首期、阶梯式还贷及代缴印花税置业,并特设提早还款回赠安排,鼓励年轻人储蓄及尽早还清贷款。

New World Build for Good

  • Create tomorrow’s housing solution today

    建好生活 構築未來

  • “The power ofbusiness liesin its abilityto give backand care forthe society.”

    Adrian Cheng, Chairman of New World Build for Good

Founded by New World Development, we are a not-for-profit social housing enterprise led by the business sector. Through research, advocacy and pilot projects, we take a multipronged approach and seek short to medium-term solutions and long-term strategies, to address Hong Kong’s housing and land supply problems. Our goal is to make Hong Kong a more liveable city.

Reimagining Hong Kong’s housing solution

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. To solve deep-rooted problems, we must innovate. To break constraints and open new ways of working, we must reach consensus in society. To truly benefit the public, we must put our words into action. Over the years, New World Development has taken a consistent interest in Hong Kong’s housing and land issues. Guided by the Group's philosophy of corporate sustainable development around environmental, social and governance (ESG) goals, it has been giving back to society through a host of innovative initiatives. Now, New World Build for Good hopes to unite the efforts of all sectors and create inspiring communities that the underprivileged and the younger generation can call home, fulfilling the spirit of “Creating Shared Value” for all stakeholders.

Our Vision

  1. Explore new and innovative social housing models for Hong Kong citizens across the economic spectrum, sharing the fruits of social development
  2. Identify innovative, practical land and housing solutions that promote the best outcomes for the government, business sector and the public
  3. Build well-supported communities that allow the younger generation to live happily and thrive together
  4. Provide fast and agile responses to social challenges to make Hong Kong one of the most liveable cities in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area

“Solving Hong Kong’s deep-rooted housing issue is fundamental to the city’s future growth. We are committed to working creatively with all parties in search of new solutions that will benefit more people.”

– Adrian Cheng, Chairman of New World Build for Good

Committee Composition

New World Build for Good (Build for Good) is founded by New World Development Company Limited, with an Advisory Committee comprising experts in land planning, housing, economic development, social welfare and livelihood concerns. The committee will creatively research and propose innovative solutions that aim to improve the housing supply and promote social mobility in Hong Kong, enabling the younger generation as well as the underprivileged to live happily. In parallel, an Executive Committee will put Build for Good’s vision into action through its research and pilot programmes, while also uniting business leaders, government and social enterprises. Its goal is to promote the long-term development of affordable housing in Hong Kong.

  1. Chairman - Adrian Cheng, CEO of New World Development

  2. Advisory Committee

    Cross-disciplinary experts to lead housing research and propose creative solutions that will help release more land and increase affordable housing supply in Hong Kong

    Our Team*

    • Mr. Patrick LAU Lai-chiu, SBSMr. Patrick LAU joined the Hong Kong Civil Service upon graduation from the University of Hong Kong in 1972 and served in various branches of the Government including the former Central Policy Unit and the former Housing, Planning and Lands Bureau, dealing with town planning, urban renewal, and land development and administration matters before retiring as Director of Lands of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government.

      Mr. Lau has been writing in a weekly column of a local newspaper for over 10 years, mainly on issues relating to land, housing, smart city, nature conservation and conservation of heritage buildings. He is also a member of the Land, Rehousing and Compensation Committee, Urban Renewal Authority and member of the Human Resources Committee, Hong Kong Housing Society.

      Mr. Lau currently also serves as Advisor of the Hong Kong Ideas Centre, Advisor of the Hong Kong Countryside Foundation, Advisor of the Our Hong Kong Foundation and Honorable Member of the Smart City Consortium.
    • Mr. Anthony CHIU Kwok-waiMr. Anthony CHIU Kwok-wai is the Executive Director of the Federation of Public Housing Estates. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in Chinese from Lingnan University. He specialises in issues related to Hong Kong’s Public Housing Policy, the grass-root housing problems, and concerns about housing needs of Hong Kong’s youth. Mr. Chiu currently serves as a member of the Hong Kong Housing Authority and its Commercial Properties Committee. He is also a member of the Task Force for the Study on Tenancy Control of Subdivided Units.
    • Professor Terence CHONG Tai-leungProfessor Terence CHONG Tai-leung is Associate Head of New Asia College, Executive Director of Lau Chor Tak Institute of Global Economics and Finance, and Co-Director of Global Economics and Finance Program and Associate Professor of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He served as Siyuan Chair Professor of Nanjing University in China from 2013 to 2016. Professor Chong received his Bachelor degree in Economics from The Chinese University of Hong Kong in 1991, and Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Rochester in 1995. His main research area is financial econometrics. He has published over 1,000 articles in international journals and newspapers covering a wide spectrum of topics in Econometrics, Finance, Mathematics, Psychology, Education and the Chinese Economy. Professor Chong ranks top 37th worldwide in theoretical econometrics, top 1% in terms of number of distinct works and number of journal pages, and top 5% economists worldwide (RePEc). His papers are published in reputable international journals, including Journal of Econometrics, Econometric Theory, Econometric Review, Econometrics Journal, Journal of Time Series Analysis, Journal of Economic Dynamics and Control, Journal of Banking and Finance, Financial Management, Journal of Futures Markets, Quantitative Finance, Financial Review, Pacific-Basin Finance Journal, Journal of Behavioral Finance, Southern Economic Journal, Economics Letters, Journal of Economic Psychology, Review of Income and Wealth, Small Business Economics, and China Economic Review.

      Professor Chong is dedicated to community service. He provides training to senior government officials of Hong Kong and the Mainland. He was also a project consultant to World Bank and an advisor to the World Green Organisation of the United Nations, Part-time member of the Central Policy Unit and a member of Standard Working Hours Committee, Transport Advisory Committee, Land and Development Advisory Committee of the HKSAR Government, and a member of the Board of Governors of International College Hong Kong (Hong Lok Yuen). He is currently a member of Standing Committee on Disciplined Services Salaries and Conditions of Service, Vetting Committee of the SME Development Fund and the Dedicated Fund on Branding, Upgrading and Domestic Sales and a panel member of the Telecommunications (Competition Provisions) Appeal Board of the HKSAR Government. He is also a member of the Economic Policy Committee of Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce and Hong Kong Jockey Club, the associate editor of Singapore Economic Review and Economics Bulletin, and the director of the Financial Markets Programme, Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies.
    • Sr. Vincent HO Kui-yip, MH, JPSr. Vincent HO Kui-yip was appointed by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region as a Justice of the Peace in 2016. He is also awarded the Medal of Honour by the government in 2021. Sr. Ho was qualified in 1991 as a Professional Building Surveyor with more than 30 years of relevant experience. He was the President of The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (2014 to 2015) and Chairman of Building Surveying Division of The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (2010 to 2012). He is the founder and Managing Director of Freevision Limited which was established in 2005 to provide property related consultancy services. He had worked for a major local developer and a surveying consultant before commencing his own venture.

      Sr. Ho specialises in property development, project management, development planning and study, feasibility study and administration of plans submission under the Buildings Ordinance and land lease. He is experienced in interpretation and application of the Buildings Ordinance and allied legislation. He is also an expert in building surveying, maintenance, building upgrading and contract dispute resolution. Sr. Ho is a prominent opinion leader on building safety, design, planning and property development matters with wide coverage by the media.

      In recent years, Sr. Ho participates actively in promotion and implementation of various Transitional Housing Projects. He has assisted the Hong Kong Council of Social Service to implement the pioneer Transitional Housing project in existing buildings in To Kwa Wan providing over 120 household accommodations and the first new MIC Transitional Housing project in Nam Cheong Street. These transitional housing projects are supporting urban renewal and community rehabilitation of Hong Kong.

      He is the project-in-charge for managing the design and project implementation of the first Modular Social Housing Project for The Hong Kong Council of Social Service in Hong Kong at Nam Cheong Street.

    *More expert members are set to join the Advisory Committee

  3. Executive Committee

    Assist the Advisory Committee in conducting research and advocacy work, and in putting its innovative plans into practice

Let’s rethink anddo more

Our Research Direction

The Advisory Committee will examine a host of long-standing housing issues facing Hong Kong society. These range from unaffordable housing for young families, prolonged waiting time for public housing and the lack of elderly-friendly homes as the population ages. Members will conduct in-depth research and aim to provide alternatives to the public, subsidised and private housing types currently available. This will support first-time homebuyers, especially among the young, as it helps build a more inclusive housing ladder. These efforts drive the Group’s vision of “Creating Shared Value” and will create a “win-win-win situation” for the government, the public and business. New World Build for Good will announce its research direction as well as detailed, feasible proposals in the near future.

Other Social Housing Projects

Guided by the vision of “Creating Shared Value”, New World Development has introduced, in recent years, a number of new social housing projects as it continues to give back to society and build for a better future.

Innovative Social Housing Programme

New World Development (NWD) has announced earlier that it would donate its farmland reserves to NGOs and/or the Hong Kong SAR government for social housing projects. A total of four projects are now in the preliminary planning phase. These include a transitional home project on Fan Kam Road currently being developed in partnership with Hong Kong Lutheran Social Service, and a transitional home project in Ngau Tam Mei, created in collaboration with Evangelical Lutheran Church Social Service - Hong Kong. The four projects will build an expected total of over 2,000 units. In order to offer additional land for transitional homes, and to build better communities for Hong Kong’s next generation, NWD is also liaising closely with NGOs and relevant government departments, and inject unique and innovative elements into social housing projects.

Sham Tseng Light Housing Project

In 2016, with funding from Chow Tai Fook Charity Foundation, NWD partnered with social housing enterprise “Light Be” to launch the “Sham Tseng Light Housing” in a first for Hong Kong. Together, they transformed a defunct 1960s dormitory into homes for low-income families, facilitating their upward mobility and helping those who need support build positive lives.

NewGen First Home Programme

In December 2017, NWD launched the “NewGen First Home Programme”, with THE PARKVILLE in Tuen Mun as pilot site, to give young people an extra option on affordable home ownership. Designed for young buyers who are financially able, the programme offers a significantly lowered down payment threshold to as low as 7.5%, with stamp duty subsidised by the developer, and “progressive mortgage repayments” to encourage young buyers to save up and settle the remaining principal balance of their loan as quickly as possible.